66 66 Page
Skip to content ↓
Highlands School

Highlands School

Curriculum 6

A Levels

A Levels are two year courses with challenging exams at the end of the course which test the whole of the syllabus. There are no longer any units or resit opportunities during the two years.

Most students will choose to study THREE A Levels through Years 12 and 13.

Some of our most able students will study FOUR A Levels.

Art (Fine Art) Economics Maths: Further Politics
Biology English Language MFL: French Psychology
Chemistry English Literature MFL: Spanish RS: Philosophy & Ethics
Computer Science Geography Music Sociology
D&T Graphic Products History Physical Education  
Drama Mathematics Physics  

Whenever possible Highlands School will deliver these subjects through lessons based on site. The provision of any individual subject is based on student numbers with a minimum group size of 11. Highlands is an active member of the Enfield Sixth Form Consortium and we are able to offer minority subjects through collaboration with local schools.

BTEC National Level 3

BTEC Nationals are Level 3 (A Level equivalent) work-related qualifications and are assessed through written examination and coursework. The courses provide specialist, work-related learning, delivering the knowledge, skills and understanding students need to prepare for their chosen career. BTEC Nationals offer progression to higher education or directly into employment. The qualification is equivalent to 3 A Levels and is graded at Distinction*, Distinction, Merit and Pass.

We offer a choice of 2:

  • Business

  • Creative Digital Media Production (Film, TV with Photography)

It may be possible, by negotiation, for a student to study the smaller Diploma (12 unit) course with the addition of one A Level course in Year 12. Entry requirements for the A Level course must be met.